How long does it take to get a divorce in California?
There is no set answer for how long a divorce can take in California, but there is a 6 month minimum. The Court will not grant you a divorce until at least 6 months after the respondent is served with the divorce papers or makes an appearance. Even if all the agreements are made and the case is settled, there is a time period the parties must wait until the divorce can be final.
The actual process of separating out assets and coming to an agreement on the settlement can take longer. This process can be a lengthy one depending on how many assets and debts the parties have accumulated during the length of the marriage. In addition, if children are involved it can take longer because custody is at issue.
In order to make sure your divorce moves along and is not held up for any mundane reasons, it is best to seek an attorneys help. The laws have recently changed regarding divorce and support in California and having an experienced attorney represent you to make sure you get the proper settlement is best. However, it is not mandatory to seek representation. You can choose to represent yourself in your divorce.